BTP Students

 

Francesca Ansonfrancesca-copyNIH Trainee 2016-18
fanson@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Jeanne Hardy and Sankaran Thayumanavan
Research Interests:  Characterize and expand the formulation of potent apoptosis inducing nanogels using combinations of enzymes and small molecule therapeutics for targeted delivery.
margaux-audettMargaux Audett, NIH Trainee 2016-18
maudett@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Thomas Maresca
Research Interests: Kinetochore proteins in the spindle assembly checkpoint during cell division.
Cameron Butova, NIH Trainee 2015-17
cbutova@gmail.com
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Scott C. Garman
Research Interests: Investigate the molecular basis of the inherited metabolic disease known as Fabry disease.
Brandon Clarke, UMass Fellow 2020-2021
bstuntebeck@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Polymer Science and Engineering
Lab: Greg Tew
Research Interest: The design of bottlebrush network tissue mimics with tunable properties
Kristalle Cruz, UMass Fellow 2018-20
kgcruz@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Jeanne Hardy
Research Interest: Structural studies of emerging alpha-viral proteases for antiviral development.
Amber de Neve, NIH Trainee 2020-21
adeneve@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Plant Biology
Lab: Madelaine Barlett
Research Interests: Understanding the genetic mechanisms controlling floral development
Connor Giles, NIH Trainee 2020-21
cgiles@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Jungwoo Lee
Research Interests: Engineering the tumor microenvironment to investigate dormancy
Greg Gregory, NIH Trainee 2020-22
ggregory@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Plant Biology
Lab: Sam Hazen
Research Interests: Investigating gene regulation determinants to facilitate increased plant productivity through synthetic biology
Ian Graham, UMass Fellow 2020-2022
ijgraham@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Environmental Engineering
Lab: Caitlyn Butler
Research Interests: Using metagenomic analyses to investigate microbial community composition, activity and genetic potential, particularly with applications towards wastewater treatment and resource recovery
Neha Gupta, UMass Fellow 2019-2021
nehagupta@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Veterinary and Animal Sciences
Lab: Rafael Fissore
Research Interests: Mechanism of Calcium homeostasis in mammalian eggs.
Kerianne Dobosz, UMass Fellow 2015-17
kdobosz@engin.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Jessica Schiffman
Research Interests: Create a new generation of UF membranes with higher flux and lower operating costs for tailored biofouling and selectivity.
Di Huang
dihuang@mcb.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Lab: Scott C. Garman
Research Interests: Understanding the structure and function of a complex of lysosomalproteins.
Hyuna Kim, UMass Fellow 2018-20
hyunakim@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular & Cellular Biology
Lab: Shelly Peyton
Research Interest: Understanding how extracellular matrix alteration relates to drug responses on breast cancer cells.
Nathan Kuhlmann, NIH Trainee 2017-19
nkuhlmann@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Lab: Peter Chien
Research Interests: Uncovering the structural details of adaptor hierarchy mediated protein degradation using the novel system that governs the cell cycle progression of Caulobacter Crescentus.
Aritra Kundu, UMass Fellow 2017-19
akundu@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Shelly Peyton
Research Interests: Engineering a synthetic 3-D lung to understand how an aggressive (MDA-MB 231) and a non-aggressive (BT-474) metastatic breast cancer cell line alter the lung ECM to create a favorable microenvironment for breast-to-lung metastasis.
Nathanael Kuzio, NIH Trainee 2020-22
nkuzio@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Jeanne Hardy
Research Interests: Characterization and development of small molecule inhibitors of viral proteases through structure-activity relationship (SAR) optimization human oocytes
Matthew Lebovich, NIH Trainee 2018-20
mlebovich@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Lauren Andrews
Research Interests: Integrating complex genetic circuits into probiotic organisms for therapeutic and diagnostic uses .
xiangan-copyXiangan LiUMass Fellow 2016-18
xianganli@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Michael Henson
Research Interests: Biofilm metabolic modeling with genome-scale time and spatial resolution.
Bin Liu
binliu@chem.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Polymer chemistry and physics
Lab: Sankaran Thayumanavan
Research Interests: Biomolecular delivery and targeted immunotherapy.
Emily Lopes, NIH Trainee 2020-22
emlopes@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Rafael Fissore
Research Interests: Investigating potential crosstalk between voltage gated and TRP family channels in oocytes as well as identifying novel channels in human oocytes
Marjorie Marin, UMass Fellow 2020-22
mmarin@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Public Heath
Lab: Alicia Timme-Laragy
Research Interests: Understanding how early life exposure to environmental contaminants like per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) impact the developing pancreas and beta-cell function.
Jessica McGory, NIH Trainee 2020-22
jmcgory@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Tom Maresca
Research Interests: Investigating the role of intrinsically disordered kinetochore proteins involved in the spindle assembly checkpoint during cell division.
Danny McSweeney, NIH Trainee 2019-21
dmcsweeney@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: ChangHui Pak
Research Interests: Investigating synaptic adhesion molecules and their contributions to neurodevelopmental disorders, like schizophrenia and autism.
Jewel Medeiros, UMass Fellow 2020-2021
jmmedeiros@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Thai Thayumanavan
Research Interests: Designing polymeric delivery vehicles for RNA delivery
Anh Nguyen, UMass Fellow 2019-2021
apnguye0@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Ashish Kulkarni
Research Interests: Development of stimuli-responsive nanotheranostic platform to enhance anticancer immune response and monitor the response in real time.
Justyne Ogdahl, NIH Trainee 2020-2021
jogdahl@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Peter Chien
Research InterestsUnderstand the mechanism by which bacterial and mitochondrial Lon’s dynamic conformation cycle engages with substrates, small molecules and DNA in order to regulate degradation
Safia Omer, UMass Fellow 2015-17
somer@mcb.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Biology
Lab: Wei-Lih Lee
Research Interest: Research spindle dynamics during mitosis in budding yeast.
Bidur PaudelUMass Fellow 2015-17
bpaudel@vasci.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Veterinary and Animal Sciences
Lab: Pablo Visconti
Research Interests: Structural studies of protein kinases.
Narciso Pavon, NIH Trainee 2020-22
npavon@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience and Behavior
Lab: ChangHui Pak
Research Interests: Fabricating a new generation of cerebral organoids capable of characterizing the spatiotemporal dynamicity of neurodevelopment.
 Poonam Phalak, UMass Fellow 2015-17
pphalak@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Michael Henson
Research Interests: Biofilm metabolic modeling with genome-scale time and spatial resolution.
 Monika Roy, NIH Trainee 2017-19
monikaroy@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Environmental Health Sciences
Lab: Alicia Timme-Laragy
Research Interests: Understanding how environmental contaminants impact cellular and organ development of the pancreas and impact subsequent metabolic disease outcomes.
Ayousha Shahi, UMass Fellow 2020-2022
ashahi@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Plant Biology
Lab: Sibongile Mafu
Research Interests: Understanding the role of specialized metabolites in fungi.
heather-sherman-original-copy_btpHeather Sherman, NIH Trainee 2016-18
hsherman@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Barbara Osborne and Lisa Minter
Research Interests: Spatiotemporal analyses of signaling cascades in activated CD8 T cells.
Khushboo Singh, UMass Fellow 2017-19
ksingh@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Sankaran (Thai) Thayumanavan
Research Interests: Developing a platform for conjugation of a monoclonal antibody (mAb), specific for a tumor antigen, on to a polymeric nanogel composed of polyethylene glycol (PEG) as the hydrophilic unit and pyridyl disulfide (PDS) as the hydrophobic unit.
Deborah Snyder, NIH Trainee 2019-2021
djsnyder@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Polymer Science and Engineering
Lab: Todd Emrick
Research Interests: A Sustainable Redesign of Polymer Zwitterions
darya-tourzaniDarya Tourzani, NIH Trainee 2018-20
dtourzani@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Veterinary and Animal Services
Lab: Pablo Visconti
Research Interests: Investigating the impact of metabolic changes in spermatozoa on early embryo development.
 ning_btpNing-Hsuan Tseng, UMass Fellow 2016-18
ntseng@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Shelly Peyton
Research Interests: Drug-mediated evolutionary genomics in breast cancer.