Current Trainees

NIH Trainees


Amber de Neve
, NIH Trainee 2020-21

adeneve@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Plant Biology
Lab: Madelaine Barlett
Research Interests: Understanding the genetic mechanisms controlling floral development
Connor Giles, NIH Trainee 2020-21
cgiles@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Jungwoo Lee
Research Interests: Engineering the tumor microenvironment to investigate dormancy

Greg Gregory
, NIH Trainee 2020-22

ggregory@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Plant Biology
Lab: Sam Hazen
Research Interests: Investigating gene regulation determinants to facilitate increased plant productivity through synthetic biology
Nathanael Kuzio, NIH Trainee 2020-22
nkuzio@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Jeanne Hardy
Research Interests: Characterization and development of small molecule inhibitors of viral proteases through structure-activity relationship (SAR) optimization human oocytes
Emily Lopes, NIH Trainee 2020-22
emlopes@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Rafael Fissore
Research Interests: Investigating potential crosstalk between voltage gated and TRP family channels in oocytes as well as identifying novel channels in human oocytes
Jessica McGory, NIH Trainee 2020-22
jmcgory@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Tom Maresca
Research Interests: Investigating the role of intrinsically disordered kinetochore proteins involved in the spindle assembly checkpoint during cell division.
Danny McSweeney, NIH Trainee 2019-21
dmcsweeney@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: ChangHui Pak
Research Interests: Investigating synaptic adhesion molecules and their contributions to neurodevelopmental disorders, like schizophrenia and autism.
Justyne Ogdahl, NIH Trainee 2020-2021
jogdahl@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Peter Chien
Research InterestsUnderstand the mechanism by which bacterial and mitochondrial Lon’s dynamic conformation cycle engages with substrates, small molecules and DNA in order to regulate degradation
Narciso Pavon, NIH Trainee 2020-21
npavon@umass.edu
Graduate Program: NSB
Lab: ChangHui Pak
Research Interests: Fabricating a new generation of cerebral organoids capable of characterizing the spatiotemporal dynamicity of neurodevelopment.
Deborah Snyder, NIH Trainee 2019-2021
djsnyder@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Polymer Science and Engineering
Lab: Todd Emrick
Research Interests: A Sustainable Redesign of Polymer Zwitterions

UMass Fellows

Brandon Clarke, UMass Fellow 2020-2021
bstuntebeck@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Polymer Science and Engineering
Lab: Greg Tew
Research Interest: The design of bottlebrush network tissue mimics with tunable properties
Ian Graham, UMass Fellow 2020-2022
ijgraham@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Environmental Engineering
Lab: Caitlyn Butler
Research Interests: Using metagenomic analyses to investigate microbial community composition, activity and genetic potential, particularly with applications towards wastewater treatment and resource recovery
Neha Gupta, UMass Fellow 2019-2021
nehagupta@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Veterinary and Animal Sciences
Lab: Rafael Fissore
Research Interests: Mechanism of Calcium homeostasis in mammalian eggs.
Marjorie Marin, UMass Fellow 2020-22
mmarin@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Public Heath
Lab: Alicia Timme-Laragy
Research Interests: Understanding how early life exposure to environmental contaminants like per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) impact the developing pancreas and beta-cell function.
Jewel Medeiros, UMass Fellow 2020-2021
jmmedeiros@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Thai Thayumanavan
Research Interests: Designing polymeric delivery vehicles for RNA delivery
Anh Nguyen, UMass Fellow 2019-2021
apnguye0@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Ashish Kulkarni
Research Interests: Development of stimuli-responsive nanotheranostic platform to enhance anticancer immune response and monitor the response in real time.
Ayousha Shahi, UMass Fellow 2020-2022
ashahi@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Plant Biology
Lab: Sibongile Mafu
Research Interests: Understanding the role of specialized metabolites in fungi.

BTP Alumni


Francesca Anson, NIH Trainee 2016-18
fanson@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Jeanne Hardy and Sankaran Thayumanavan
Research Interests:  Characterize and expand the formulation of potent apoptosis inducing nanogels using combinations of enzymes and small molecule therapeutics for targeted delivery.
Margaux Audett, NIH Trainee 2016-18
maudett@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Thomas Maresca
Research Interests: Kinetochore proteins in the spindle assembly checkpoint during cell division.
Cameron Butova, NIH Trainee 2015-17
cbutova@gmail.com
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Scott C. Garman
Research Interests: Investigate the molecular basis of the inherited metabolic disease known as Fabry disease.
Kristalle Cruz, UMass Fellow 2018-20
kgcruz@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Jeanne Hardy
Research Interest: Structural studies of emerging alpha-viral proteases for antiviral development.
Kerianne Dobosz, UMass Fellow 2015-17
kdobosz@engin.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Jessica Schiffman
Research Interests: Create a new generation of UF membranes with higher flux and lower operating costs for tailored biofouling and selectivity.
Hyuna Kim, UMass Fellow 2018-20
hyunakim@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular & Cellular Biology
Lab: Shelly Peyton
Research Interest: Understanding how extracellular matrix alteration relates to drug responses on breast cancer cells.
Nathan Kuhlmann, NIH Trainee 2017-19
nkuhlmann@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Peter Chien
Research Interests: Uncovering the structural details of adaptor hierarchy mediated protein degradation using the novel system that governs the cell cycle progression of Caulobacter Crescentus.
Aritra Kundu, UMass Fellow 2017-19
akundu@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Shelly Peyton
Research Interests: Engineering a synthetic 3-D lung to understand how an aggressive (MDA-MB 231) and a non-aggressive (BT-474) metastatic breast cancer cell line alter the lung ECM to create a favorable microenvironment for breast-to-lung metastasis.
Matthew Lebovich, NIH Trainee 2018-20
mlebovich@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Lauren Andrews
Research Interests: Integrating complex genetic circuits into probiotic organisms for therapeutic and diagnostic uses .
xiangan-copyXiangan Li, UMass Fellow 2016-18
xianganli@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Michael Henson
Research Interests: Biofilm metabolic modeling with genome-scale time and spatial resolution.
Bidur PaudelUMass Fellow 2015-17
bpaudel@vasci.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Veterinary and Animal Sciences
Lab: Pablo Visconti
Research Interests: Structural studies of protein kinases.
 Poonam Phalak, UMass Fellow 2015-17
pphalak@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemical Engineering
Lab: Michael Henson
Research Interests: Biofilm metabolic modeling with genome-scale time and spatial resolution.
Safia Omer, UMass Fellow 2015-17
somer@mcb.umass.edu
Graduate Program: Biology
Lab: Wei-Lih Lee
Research Interest: Research spindle dynamics during mitosis in budding yeast.
Monika Roy, NIH Trainee 2017-2019
monikaroy@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Global Environmental Health Sciences
Lab: Alicia Timme-Laragy
Research Interests: Understanding how environmental contaminants impact cellular and organ development of the pancreas and impact subsequent metabolic disease outcomes.
heather-sherman-original-copy_btpHeather Sherman, NIH Trainee 2016-2018
hsherman@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Barbara Osborne and Lisa Minter
Research Interests: Spatiotemporal analyses of signaling cascades in activated CD8 T cells.
Khushboo Singh, UMass Fellow 2017-19
ksingh@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Chemistry
Lab: Sankaran (Thai) Thayumanavan
Research Interests: Developing a platform for conjugation of a monoclonal antibody (mAb), specific for a tumor antigen, on to a polymeric nanogel composed of polyethylene glycol (PEG) as the hydrophilic unit and pyridyl disulfide (PDS) as the hydrophobic unit.
Darya Tourzani, NIH Trainee 2018-20
dtourzan@umass.edu
Graduate Program: Veterinary and Animal Services
Lab: Pablo Visconti
Research Interests: Investigating the impact of metabolic changes in spermatozoa on early embryo development.
ning_btp
Ning-Tsuan Tseng, UMass Fellow 2016-18
ntseng@umass.edu

Graduate Program: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Lab: Shelly Peyton
Research Interests: Drug-mediated evolutionary genomics in breast cancer.